The Calaskan Will Return

Hard to believe, but it’s been more than a year since I decided to stop writing a blog for, effectively, no one.  And not a lot has changed.  I’m still acting as a school librarian in a small Alaskan village on the Arctic Ocean, and Katrina is a postmaster now (or “postmistress” as I insist, much to her annoyance), an under-appreciated but crucial position within the community.

Oh!  We’re married now.  I suppose that’s different.  It’s also been more than year since then.  How time flies.  I even got her the traditional modern 1st anniversary gift: a clock, which we needed anyway.  As far as we’re concerned, being married isn’t that different from what we were already doing.  But there’s a nice bit of paper that says we are, in fact, a family now.

So, why come back?  Well, in the interim I had joined an online writing circle Katrina introduced me to, one for “fan fiction” of the Star Wars variety, specifically for the online Star Wars game we both play; The Old Republic.  Yeah, I know.  That’s kind of lame.  And I wrote for it semi-regularly for a while.  But even I grow tired of writing about Star Wars characters I made up, so I slowly drifted away from that.  But I realized that I liked to be writing for me, not for a hypothetical audience.  So that’s what I’m going to do.

At this point, I’m not sure if it will have a regular schedule.  But I do know I won’t have a regular topic.  Talking about what’s new this week isn’t always the most exciting thing, so you’ll probably see a lot of opinions and reviews, maybe a short story now-and-again.  Speaking of which, Katrina has also kept writing; last November, she completed a first draft of an original short novel for National Novel Writer’s Month, though we are now still in that awkward stage where she can’t seem to decide if she should spruce it up for publication or scrap it entirely.

I’ve spent most of this summer visiting my parents back in my old hometown (one of the perks of working for a school is you get a pre-scheduled vacation every summer, after all).  But Katrina obviously couldn’t leave; that would mean closing the post office, as she has no backup.  But we agreed I needed the time; neither of us left during the Christmas vacation, and the starkness of our arctic landscape has kind of worn me down this year.  We’ve stayed in touch via Skype and phone calls everyday, but we are both anxious to see each other in person again at this point.

So as I prepare to return home, I’ve decided to dust off this old blog one more time.  Let’s see what happens.

One response to “The Calaskan Will Return

  1. Hey, Good to have you back!  I’ve missed you.  My days haven’t been the same since Dave Berry and you both went into retirement. I hope Katrina doesn’t just deep-six her novel without even giving it a chance to fly.  If writing and being published is something she really wants it would be regrettable if she just gave up without giving it everything she’s got to make it happen.  Feeling anxious, discouraged, or just plain scared is OK (maybe human is a better word), but just flat out quitting would be too sad, as she’d probably always wonder, “I wonder if I could have made it if I’d have tried a little harder”. Somehow, that just doesn’t seem like her at all.  But who am I to say? After all, I always wanted to hike the whole length of the PCT, and it doesn’t look like that’s probably ever going to happen, either.  Maybe in my next life, I always say!  Anyway, it will be great to read your blogs again.  I sure enjoyed seeing you while you were home.  Give my regards to the polar bears when they come back to feed on the whale carcasses, will ‘ya?………………Much love, Pat

     

    From: Calaskan To: geopat2@sbcglobal.net Sent: Tuesday, July 28, 2015 6:55 PM Subject: [New post] The Calaskan Will Return #yiv5018492371 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5018492371 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5018492371 a.yiv5018492371primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5018492371 a.yiv5018492371primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5018492371 a.yiv5018492371primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5018492371 a.yiv5018492371primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5018492371 WordPress.com | ontariowatson posted: “Hard to believe, but it’s been more than a year since I decided to stop writing a blog for, effectively, no one.  And not a lot has changed.  I’m still acting as a school librarian in a small Alaskan village on the Arctic Ocean, and Katrina is a” | |

Leave a Reply

