Mud and Snow

“Breakup”, as the Alaskans call it, is definitely here. Now that the days are longer and warmer, the snow is melting, and all that water needs to go somewhere, so our driveway is a muddy mess.

20130430-092512.jpg
Actually, take away the snow, and you’ve pretty much got the winters I’m used to; cold enough for a jacket, but otherwise pleasant, though the sun is already up way too long. The change in weather also means its time to get the studded tires off the car, so that’s one of the things we’ll be doing today. Though that’s really just a matter of bringing the car to a shop and saying “swap these tires”. Other than that, I’m not sure what to do with myself. This is my first day off in a while, after almost a week of very long days. Now that Katrina has finished her training, she is waiting for the call from the electrician’s union. In the meantime, though, it’s good to be able to see her most of the time again.

I suppose the other thing I’m doing today is getting a haircut, which I need desperately, though Katrina seems to like it when my hair is long. I always think I look like a disheveled homeless person, and still have the emotional scars from being mocked mercilessly in high school when I had a “mullet”. Not the redneck kind, the Obi-Wan Kenobi kind. A space mullet. Dignified and such. Which people shot spitballs into.

Anyway, I’ve got something particular in mind this time, a minor style change for a special occasion, to be revealed next week (oooh, teaser!), so we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

